how to activate yoga chakra

Yoga Chakras – The Secret Doorway to the Divine

The term Chakra in yoga represents the energy centers located in your astral body located along the spine. Moreover, each of these yoga chakras represents a physical, psychological, emotional, and spiritual aspect of your being.

There are a total of seven chakras with each radiating a specific color and energy. All these are divided into three categories;

  • Lower Triangle
  • Balance Point
  • Upper Triangle

We shall go in-depth to understand the different yoga chakras found in each of these. However, first, let us understand how you can unlock these sacred energy centers.

How To Activate Your Chakras

The speed and frequency of these yoga chakras depend on a variety of factors. Moreover, these include diet, lifestyle, and thought patterns. Also, some of the tools you can utilize to activate the chakras include:


The primary reason behind an imbalance in any of these yoga chakras is an imbalance of the five elements in the body. Further, a balanced diet balances these five elements and helps you unlock the yoga chakras.


The right breathing technique increases the flow of the Prana in the body and frees the stuck life force.


Regular meditation practice clears your mind of all negativity and rids the body of any toxins.


Yoga asanas unlock and stimulate all energy chakras inside your body.

The Lower Triangle

This has the yoga chakras responsible for fulfilling the physical needs of the body and life. Also, it contains the Muladhara, Svadhishthana, and Manipura chakra.

Muladhara Chakra (Root Chakra)

Muladhara Chakra (Root Chakra)
  • Responsible for survival, security, ambition, and self-sufficiency
  • Located at the end of the spine and between the anus and sexual organs
  • Radiates the color red and represents the element Earth
  • The seed mantra for Muladhara Chakra is Lam
  • Vrkshasana (Tree Pose) and Tadasana (Mountain Pose) balance the Root Chakra

An imbalanced Root Chakra leaves you feeling unstable, insecure, and fearful.

Svadhishthana Chakra (Sacral Chakra)

Svadhishthana Chakra (Sacral Chakra)
  • Represents the basic needs like desires, creativity, and self-worth
  • Located in the lower abdomen about a distance of four fingers below the navel
  • Radiates the color orange and represents the element Water
  • The seed mantra for Sacral Chakra is Vam
  • Crow Pose (Kakasana) and Standing Triangle Pose (Trikonasana) balance this chakra

Imbalance of Sacral Chakra makes you emotionally unstable, obsessed with sexual thoughts, and become manipulative

Manipura Chakra (Solar Plexus Chakra)

Manipura Chakra (Solar Plexus Chakra)
  • Represents emotions like aggression, anger, and ego
  • Located above the navel at the solar plexus
  • Represents the fire element and radiates the color yellow
  • The seed mantra for this chakra is Ram
  • Paschimottanasana (Forward Bend), Bhujangasana (Cobra Pose), and Dhanurasana (Bow Pose) balance this chakra

An imbalance of the Solar Plexus Chakra manifests as physical problems like digestive and liver problems. Hence, you suffer on an emotional level with depression, anger, and lack of self-esteem.

The Balance Point

This is the balance point in your body and in between the flow of upper and lower energies. Here, your perspective starts to shift from Me to We. This contains the Heart Chakra.

Anahata Chakra (Heart Chakra)

Anahata Chakra (Heart Chakra)
  • Radiates the color green and represents the Air element
  • Located in the heart region
  • Represents emotions of love, compassion, trust, and passion
  • The seed mantra for Heart Chakra is Yam
  • Ardha Setubandhasana (Half Bridge Pose) and Matsyasana (Fish Pose) balance this chakra

An imbalance in Heart Chakra causes feelings of anger, anxiety, jealousy, and fear.

The Upper Triangle

Every yoga chakra in the Upper Triangle creates, accumulates, and refines the subtle energy. Also, there are no gross elements associated with the fifth, sixth, and seventh Chakra as these work with subtle realms.

Vishuddha Chakra (Throat Chakra)

Vishuddha Chakra (Throat Chakra)
  • Radiates the color blue and represents the element space
  • Located at the base of the throat
  • Represents faith, expression, inspiration, and ability to communicate
  • The seed mantra for this chakra is Ham
  • Sarvangasana (Shoulder Stand) and Halasana (Plough Pose) stimulate this chakra

An imbalance of this chakra causes timidity, feelings of weakness, and an inability to express one’s thoughts.

Ajna Chakra (Third Eye Chakra)

Ajna Chakra (Third Eye Chakra)
  • Radiates the color indigo blue but is free of any element
  • Located between the eyebrows
  • Provides liberation and intuitional knowledge
  • Represents intuition, intelligence, and self-knowledge
  • The seed mantra for this chakra is Om
  • Shirshasana (Headstand) stimulates this chakra

An imbalance of the Ajna Chakra manifests on a physical level as headache, and also as fear of success.

Sahastrara Chakra (Crown Chakra)

Sahastrara Chakra (Crown Chakra)
  • Radiates the color violet or white and does not represents any element
  • Center of spirituality and dynamic energy
  • Represents the inward flow of wisdom and cosmic consciousness
  • The seed mantra for this chakra is Aum
  • Shirshasana (Headstand) helps balance this chakra

An imbalance of the Crown Chakra leaves you frustrated all the time, have destructive feelings, and feel no joy at all.

Why Awaken Your Chakras is Important?

Why Awaken Your Chakras is Important?

Chakras offer much more than a healthy body. Further, these have a direct impact on your ambition and goals in life. Below are five solid reasons why activating these sacred energy centers can help you.

  • Improves health and overall well-being
  • Increases overall awareness, memory power, and concentration
  • Provides a sense of self-esteem and confidence
  • Helps with deep sleep and better control over emotions
  • Offers faster ability to heal from physical, mental, and spiritual trauma

Also Read: Yoga Poses To Increase Height

In other words, Chakras help unlock your true potential and with the right guidance, there is no stopping you from reaching self-realization.


Ques 1) Does yoga unblock chakras?

Ans) Yes! Practicing yoga can unblock yoga chakras. When you practice different yoga postures, the energy within your body flows seamlessly. Hence, your chakras unblock when the energy restores to a natural pace. 

Ques 2) How do chakras get blocked?

Ans) Everyday events cause a disruption in your energy flow. Moreover, different circumstances give birth to various negative emotions and feelings. Thus, your yoga chakras get blocked. 

Ques 3) What Chakra is for anxiety?

Ans) The solar plexus chakra relates to anxiety or stress. When you bring your attention to this chakra, your anxiety and stress get flushed out of your system.