three yoga nadis

Ida, Pingala, and Sushumna: A Path to Raise Awareness

Out of the 72000 Nadis present in the human body, three stand out. These are Ida Nadi, Pingala Nadi, and Sushumna Nadi. Each Nadi represents a particular meaning and has a different purpose. You may not find them present in your physical body. Rather, they are there in your subtle and energy body. Therefore, these Nadis are connected with the divine power and energy flowing within you. Ida, Pingala, and Sushumna create a perfect balance in your body.

Ida, Pingala, and Sushumna: A Brief Introduction

These are the three major yoga Nadis. Let’s discuss one-by-one about all the three Nadis to have a better insight. Keep reading.

Ida Nadi: The Left Energy Channel

It is located on the left side of your spine. Ida Nadi signifies the moon energy. That means it represents the calm and emotional state of a person. Further, it is known as yin energy.

Ida is derived from Sanskrit that means ‘comfort’. Each living individual has a dual nature within themselves. Ida signifies the feminine part that is connected to your left nostril and links with the right hemisphere of your brain. Out of Ida, Pingala, and Sushumna Nadis, Ida comforts the nervous system. Hence, it works to calm the mind, body, and soul of a person.

Pingala Nadi: The Right Energy Channel

It is situated on the right side of your spine. Pingala Nadi signifies the sun energy. It represents the masculine part of an individual. Furthermore, it is known as yang energy.

Derived from the Sanskrit word, Pingala means ‘flow’ or ‘channel’. Pingala Nadi is connected to your right nostril and links to the left hemisphere of your brain. Representing the masculine energy, Pingala Nadi represents strength and vitality.

Significance of Ida & Sushumna

Just like there are two sides of a coin, Ida and Pingala Nadi represent the duality of a human body. Both the Nadis work as a whole. One complements the other and therefore, sets in a perfect alignment with the other.

When you activate the Ida and Pingala Nadis, you walk towards achieving perfect energy balance in your body. It leads the way towards activation of the Sushumna Nadi. Further, there is a flow of energy from your root chakra to your crown chakra.

Ida and Pingala Nadi intersect each other at chakras. Hence, balancing both the Nadis raises your Kundalini energy. Both the Nadis acts as a gateway to the subtle realm that creates a balance in your emotions, thoughts, and actions.

Sushumna Nadi: A Perfect Balance

Sushumna is made up of two words: ‘sukha’ and ‘mana’. The word Sushumna comes from Sanskrit that is roughly translated to ‘virtuous thinking’. It is also be known as ‘healthy thinking’.

Coming to the word ‘sukha’, it signifies an idea that denotes tranquility and center of balance. ’Mana’ denotes hidden abilities that of a psychic. Hence, both words have deep spiritual meanings that are far beyond the physical realm.

Located in the center of the Ida and Pingala Nadi, Sushumna Nadi goes vertically along with your spine. Sushumna Nadi lies at the base of your spine in the root chakra and goes all the way up to your crown chakra. Sushumna Nadi connects all the energy centers of your subtle body.

Benefits of Activating Ida, Pingala and Sushumna Nadis

  • Removes any negative energy roaming within you
  • Calms your mind and body
  • Betters flow of energy in your body
  • Opens your energy centers
  • Boosts confidence and helps you stay grounded
  • Raises your awareness
  • Cleanse your aura
  • Raises your consciousness

Also Read: 14 Days Yoga Retreat In Rishikesh

Sum Up

Ida, Pingala, and Sushumna Nadis are the three major yoga Nadis that perfectly balance your energy. Activating each Nadi results in a better flow of vital force from your root chakra to your crown chakra. These Nadis further ensures spiritual healing that helps you have better overall health. Hence, your consciousness raises and helps you attain your full potential.